The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Building a new system! Need Help!
Old 16th October 2013
Here for the gear

Building a new system! Need Help!

Hey everybody! I am a long time Gearslutz lurker, but first time poster! I have been doing live sound for 5 or 6 years now, and mostly using borrowed equipment owned by the theaters and bands I've been working for. I have decided that I needed to branch out and build a system that I can call my own! This will mainly be for live rock bands in small to medium sized bars and clubs. I have done some research and put together a system, but am having all sorts of second thoughts. I wanted to run my current build by y'all and see what you would add, subtract, or change! I would also appreciate suggestions tips on wiring and optimal signal flow (I know the basics, but just wondering if there are any special quirks to anything here). Thanks in advance!

4 PV12M's on a Crown XTI 1000
2 PV215's on a Crown XTI 4000
2 PV118's on a Crown XTI 2000

A slew of XLR and TRS cables as well as a 16 Channel Stage Snake
4 SM58's for VOX
4 PG56's for Rack drums and Snare
3 SM57's for Guitars
2 PG81's for Drum Overheads
and a PG52 for the Kick

A Behringer X32 for the Mixer

A50D clips for drums
MS7701B for 58's, 81's and 57's
MS7920B for the 52

Then I have a 12u SKB rack
with the 3 amps
a 3u Drawer
a 1u vent
PV23XO crossover, which I'm not sure if I need
and a Furman M8-Lx Power Conditioner

Thanks a bunch!
Old 16th October 2013
Lives for gear

IMO this is what I'd change if budget can be increased...

Have you looked at active cabs? Or are you dead set on passive?

If you're set on passive, I'd switch to Yamaha Club in this arrangement:
- 4x SM12V on 2x QSC GX5
- 2x S115V on QSC GX7
- 2x SW118V on QSC GX7
- 2x pole sticks or speaker stands
- 8x speakon cables
- dbx 223xs crossover (yes you need one)