The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
No sound for rehearsals?
Old 14th October 2013
Gear Nut

No sound for rehearsals?

I am a relatively new member at a rather large church that I've been attending for almost two years. I joined the media ministry as one of the audio engineers about a year and a half ago, which is a position I held at my significantly smaller in size former church. It's a bigger setup than I was used to, but I've adjusted. Recently, I started attending rehearsals and was shocked the sound was not turned on for rehearsals. So I turned it on. In fact, I told them whenever I am available I would come to all rehearsals to make sure the system is on. Rehearsals consist of most choir members for all the choirs, but not the full band. Only the organist. (The full band is a drummer, organist, keyboardist, bassist, pianist, lead guitar and percussionist). The singers and the organist are appreciative. After a month, the other audio engineer approaches me and advises me that I've opened a can of worms by turning on the sound for them. His logic is if there is no full band, there should be no sound. Additionally, he tells me they don't NEED sound, as they don't need to hear themselves or each other. "Learn your notes" is his attitude. He has told them not to expect sound anymore, even though he does not have the authority to make that decision. I have taken this up the "chain of command" as I disagree. Even in my former church, which is infinitely smaller than where I'm at now, where I was the only musician at the rehearsal (organist), I turned on the sound for the singers. In fact, I have never had a rehearsal of any kind without the mics on. He also uses the terms sound check and rehearsals interchangeably, which I also disagree with. My questions are, is he making any sense? How do you guys/girls handle rehearsal with just the singers and one musician? Sound or not? Sorry to be so long