The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
PA Speakers? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 24th December 2010
Gear Head

Talking PA Speakers?

hi,

I'm new in working with live equipment. I wanna buy a pair of PA speakers for live performance (vocal mostly). I just know that many people like Mackie SRM450 v2. Money doesn't matter, just suggest me the most adorable renown and best ones.
Old 24th December 2010
Gear Nut

Hi! I've been using the mackies a couple of times (mostly for live monitoring). I can't say that I am a big fan. Their lack of clarity is what really bugs me. Shure, you can trim them in and make them sound ok, but there are better options. Frankly, I am not that good at live PA stuff, so I won't be able to give youany good suggestions. But go have a listen to some different models. And by all means, if you like the mackies, get them. Merry x-mas!
Old 24th December 2010
Lives for gear

What exactly is the instrumentation going on and what kind of music? I mean, is this with a rock band that you just want to pump your vocals over the instruments/amps on-stage? How big are the places you're playing at?
Old 24th December 2010
Gear Head

Smile

I'm working more with the studio stuff and I know in my area the most important thing is the acoustic in the room. I haven't worked with the live stuff. Well, mostly I will practice singing, with a instrumental beat behind, and on live performances (sometimes unplugged versions with guitar and sometimes with a band). The music style is pop and rock mostly. Merry Christmas!
Old 24th December 2010
Gear Maniac