The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
First time running sound for a wedding? Analog Processors (HW)
Old 6th August 2008
Lives for gear

Question First time running sound for a wedding?

Hey guys,

I have been asked to run sound/DJ a wedding in September. This is my first time doing something like this, and I'm looking for suggestions. The groom rented a PA system for me to run, and this is all I know about it:

Four Speaker PA with Microphone
For groups up to 300 guests
  • 4 – 12" 2-way Professional Speakers on Tripod Stands
  • 8 Channel, 200 watt Audio Mixer / Amplifier
  • Professional Microphone with Stand and Cable
  • Speaker & Power Cables
Who knows what kind of speakers/mics/cables/etc. it contains. I am looking for some info:

-tips on where/how to set up the 4 speakers
-how much should a first timer charge for something like this?

I will obviously like to check it out a day or two ahead of time to work out kinks...but anything you guys got would be helpful.
Old 6th August 2008
"yeah, we're gonna ask you to turn it down about 4 notches. My grandmother can't hear herself talking"
Old 6th August 2008
Lives for gear

most likely you're talking about the wedding reception. main problem I see is folks set up the speakers incorrectly and encounter feedback if using a mic. Use a cordless mic with extra batteries. Everyone will want to send out love to the newly weds.

But sure to setup in a spot away from consistent traffic. Drunk people always run into Sheeeeeet. did you say "speakers on tripods".

Music doesn't need to be overly loud(unless asked for).
song list. bring everything u can. Don't think "oh, no one will ask for this". You will get everyone asking for different stuff. lots of party/dancing tunes.

bring a pen and paper to take phone numbers. women love the DJ(most of the time). even the big girls...LOLheh
Old 7th August 2008