The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
PM5D Compact Flash Consoles
Old 10th September 2007
Lives for gear

Question PM5D Compact Flash

So will any CF card work with a PM5D to store scene information? I'm about to hit the road with a new band and I have a feeling I will come across some 5D's. I have never worked on one before so if I can store the scene the first time I'm sure it will make it easier on me in case I have to use one again during the tour. I assume it has to be formatted in the PM5D before use, but is there any specific product I should be looking for?
Old 10th September 2007
Lives for gear

Not sure about the CF cards needed, I want to say, though, that it is CF in a PCMCIA adapter. I'll look at my manuals again (or you can check- go to Yamaha Pro Audio Global Site and you can download them). One thing to be careful of, though-

Yamaha has just updated the 5D to Ver 2 software. If you save your ver 2 settings, you will not be able to open them on a ver 1 board. I also don't believe that you can save as a Ver 1 setting.

My suggestion is to bring a laptop with Ver 1 studio manager on it. Program the console ahead of time with basic settings and load them up on to their board. At least you'll have a starting point for all your gigs...

--Ben
Old 10th September 2007
Lives for gear

Thanks for the tip. I will get the CF card and adapter anyway for use with my laptop, so if I need it I will have the PCMCIA adapter. I will download Studio Manager v.1 but I don't have any experience with it or the 5D. I will read up on the manuals before I go out, but there is a chance that I will not even come across a PM5D. I just want to be prepared.