The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
QSC Speaker Advice: 2x K10 + KS112 or 2x K12
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
QSC Speaker Advice: 2x K10 + KS112 or 2x K12

Hi there,

Greetings from down under (Australia). I hope everybody is taking care around the world during these crazy times.

I'm not very experienced when it comes to hardware but I'm trying to decide what the best solution is for my situation and thought I'd get some advice.

I'm an acoustic guitarist (live looping with percussions on the guitar) performing cover songs with a female singer. Our venues range from small indoor cafes to outdoor markets. At the moment, we're also considering the wedding scene, not only offering live music but to also be the one-stop shop solution for all their sound needs (dance party music at reception etc).

The wedding size on average I'd imagine would be approximately 100-150 guests.

I'm just wondering, what PA speaker combination would you recommend that would most suit our needs?

We would like to stick to the QSC range as they appear to be one of the more reliable and worthwhile brands.

From the acoustic duo point of view, I reckon we could get away with just the 2x K10s for our live performances. Portability would be a priority in this case.

However, for weddings, where we want to provide extra low-end when the dance music kicks in, we'll add the KS112 sub to the K10s.

Would this solution (2x K10s + 1x KS112) be enough to fulfill enough volume for all guests to hear all the speeches etc. and enough bass for the front half of the room (where all the dancers would be) or would we need something more larger?

I've also got an AER Compact 60/3 TE to use as a stage monitor

Thanks in advance.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Addict

Only you know what level you actually want to achieve - one person's ample is another person's quiet!