The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
connecting old large speakers to amp (4ohm parallels) 1/4" in only?
Old 5th August 2020
Here for the gear

connecting old large speakers to amp (4ohm parallels) 1/4" in only?

Greetings ! .. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to large PA systems, and the one I just acquired looks like an old (but potentially decent) fixer-upper.
I'm getting a signal on the included EQ, compressor & amps (("Electro-Voice 7600" / 1200w stereo amp) & 2 x "Amcron PSA-2" 600w mono amps).. also came with a custom Crossover XLR 4-in / 4-out (still need to research crossover setups) and I already have a Bryston 2B-LP stereo amp, not tested, but looks fairly new.

My main issue at present, is getting sound from amps to speakers.
The speakers each have 2 x 1/4 jack inputs, labelled "4ohm parallels". Any advice on connecting them ?!

Should I be making something like this ? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0acojlsf5M
Attached Thumbnails
connecting old large speakers to amp (4ohm parallels) 1/4" in only?-20200709_141734.jpg  
Old 6th August 2020
Gear Maniac

Did you not get speaker cables with the gear? If not you just need some with 1/4" connectors, those were commonly used back in the day. Note.. you should not use 1/4" instrument cables as the wire gauge is much too small.

Do you know the model numbers for the speakers?
Old 6th August 2020
Here for the gear

Thanks for the insight paul o ! . . .

so if I understand correctly, I could connect to the speaker with 1/4 "banana plugs" (1 plug for negative / 1 for positive) using thick speaker wire (at least 12-14 awg) ?

I can't seem to find any additional info on the speaker, other than what's in the pic. the soundsystem fell into my lap a few days ago.. complete with rack & musty basement smell. speakers are huge & heavy (requires 2 people to lift them) i copped 2 of em, still need to pick up the other 2 ! (my sympathies to the neighbours)
Old 6th August 2020
Gear Maniac

Quote: