The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Powering small monitors off-grid
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Powering small monitors off-grid

Hi all,

I am helping a friend to prepare a small live-set in a place where we won't have power. The idea is not to play loud (it is not really a party, we will only be a small crew), just to have some sound to make the experience nice.

I did some research online over the past days, including on this very helpful forum, but I haven't really been able to find a satisfying answer. I'm mostly concerned to do something wrong (burn the amps or something), as I have never done this before.

We will be using small studio monitors, either the KRK Rokit 6 or 10-3, which have a power output of around 100W and 300W respectively, per speaker. So that's 200W and 600W for each pair respectively. As I was reading through different threads I understood that the actual power consumption would be lower than this (as this describes the power rating and not the "1/8 power consumption"). I couldn't find much info on the actual power consumption. Whichever speakers we use, I don't think we would be using them at more than 50-70% of the volume, but to be on the safe side let's assume we'd be playing them louder. Beyond these studio monitors, we would only be using a laptop and a traktor controller (the latter can be powered by the laptop, so we can disregard it).

I am wondering 4 things:

1) Is it safe to use a generator for this setting, without risking any damage to the gear?
2) Would we need any additional equipment beyond the generator, a power cable, and a power strip?