The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Using Logic Pro X for Live Backing Tracks
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Using Logic Pro X for Live Backing Tracks

Hi everyone,

I've been playing live with my Originals band for a couple of years now and we've got quite a Synthy sound to us so we run backing tracks live - as well as, live guitar, bass, drums, and keys.

The backing track stuff was super new for us when we started and I ended up just settling on Logic Sessions with 8 tracks (Drums, Bass, Risers, Percussion, Backings etc). I've set all our live songs up in one big Logic timeline and just use markers and arraignment to move songs on the fly for setlists or change of mood.

I tried messing around with Mainstage and triggering on SPDs and such, but I got super frustrated with a bunch of things. This included not having the ability to scrub through tracks - so in rehearsals if we want to nail one part, we couldnt just jump to that section. Another was the ability to control individual tracks for levelling and mix purposes. I've also got a little Midi Mixer via USB to move any volume things on the fly on stage (whilst im playing guitar).

The reason I'm posting here is because it just feels very counter intuitive to run a massive Logic session with 20+ tracks and arranging them for different set lists. Are there other programs out there that can offer me the same versatility without clogging up a session? Is there a better way to run my sessions in Logic so I can chop and change songs? I'd love to know what solutions there might be out there, as I'm pretty amateur with this backing track stuff.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by milostnik View Post
Hi everyone,

I've been playing live with my Originals band for a couple of years now and we've got quite a Synthy sound to us so we run backing tracks live - as well as, live guitar, bass, drums, and keys.