The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
A Problem with IEM for vocallists
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

A Problem with IEM for vocallists

i'm a drummer and have worked as a music director for a couple of musical outfits. The reason i've created this thread is that i've found many vocalists who are new to or have little experience with IEM severely struggling with the concept of wearing earphones while singing. i never really understood why monitoring on earphones was such a struggle, instead, as a drummer i find it liberating and (when you have a good mix) quite an upgrade from listening on wedges. But most singers i worked with just never welcomed the idea and i really couldn't understand why. Even after i stood up off the kit to go where they were to wear their earphones to confirm with my own ears that the mix was good, and to confirm from the singer's opinion that the mix was indeed good.

But then later after much thought and personal experimentation i realized that the reason they struggle with wearing snugly fitting earphones is because, when your ears are plugged tight, even before any audio is sent to the earphones, plugged ears make for an uncomfortable situation in the sense that you can basically hear everything going on in your sinus cavities. You can hear yourself swallow, breath, chew, speak and sing. Now while the physical resonance of your skull has no volume knob except to vary the velocity of your singing, the solution for most of my vocalist friends has been to unplug one and sometimes both earphones just for to achieve comfort. This poses the obvious problem: unless there are side fills, or if the earphones were a REPLACEMENT for wedges, it means the vocalist cannot hear a mix, leading to pitch and timing issues.