The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Riders -- Condensers for Percussion
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Guru

Riders -- Condensers for Percussion

I'm still pretty new to the FOH thing, but it seems like with anyone with hand perc specifies condenser mics. Why? It's already the brightest stuff on the stage, and gain is a non-issue.

Do people just copy-and-paste this stuff from other riders they've found? I've suspected that for a while about "clean ice."

Anyone who sends a rider to a bar is a pretentious tool anyway, imo, but that's not really the issue.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

many bands do copy-paste things on their riders but many percussionists use all sorts of toys to make some additional noise (shakers, tambourins, woodblocks, bells, whistles, chimes, crickets and whatnot) so besides sticking some dynamics to congas, bongos, djembes, timbales etc., a single condenser pointing in the direction of the percussionist doesn't need to be a bad idea - at least it has been working pretty well for me when working with airto moreira, louis conte, sheila e., marilyn mazur, evelyn glennie etc. they do not play at bars very often though...
depending on the rig (and what mics are available) i have been using several sdc's or ldc's with various patterns, sometimes as a pair of spaced overheads, sometimes close to instruments. for a small rig and/or in a small place or on a very loud stage, a dynamic mic should do.
maybe except for tablas, condensers as close mics on (hand) drums imo are as useless as on toms - however, there are far more mini condensers clip mics available than dynamics...
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

an condenser or two over the percussions can offer good pickup of the various toys without too much fussing on the part of the musician or the mixer, they just need to be aimed in the general direction of where the instruments are being played.