The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Entry Wireless Microphone Comparison
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Entry Wireless Microphone Comparison

I would love for someone to explain some things in layman's terms. Assume I'm a good live sound engineer with everything wired. Assume I know very little about wireless.

I need to set up a rig of 4 wireless mic channels. 2 lapel, 2 handheld. Mostly for wedding ceremonies (so nerdy "high quality" not needed), and occasional use for conferences as emcee/speaker mics, sometimes vocal performance. I do not anticipate ever needing more than 8 wireless channels in my wildest dreams in the future. (I'll probably never use more than the 4.)

I'm not really brand-loyal or tied to any particular brand, so specifics are just for comparison. Here's my questions:

Why is Shure SLX 50% more than BLX? I get it should be a little more. But IR Sync is worth $200 per channel? I don't need the "more available channels" that SLX supposedly offers. But I'm reading that the "quality" of RF "compounding" is better? ...then on top of all that I keep reading that Shure's lower end mic's are ALL overpriced for what they offer-- ok, compared to what?

To some degree that question applies to other brand's mic's I've seen-- they've got two models that don't seem that different to me, and one is not only slightly more, but WAY (50% or more) more expensive. Why?

It looks like BLX is priced low enough. Why do people say they're not worth what you pay for them? What's the alternative?

Lastly-- it looks like the Sennheiser EW 100, Shure SLX, and new EV RE3 (getting excellent reviews) are priced equivalently ($599 with basic cardioid dynamic handheld mic/transmitter). SLX plastic transmitter looks like garbage compared to the other two, right? Way better to have the metal housing on the mic's that the e835 and ND76 offer?