The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Tannoy PA
Old 3rd November 2019
Here for the gear

Tannoy PA

Hi there, this is my first post, I finally registered because I have a problem I can't find a solution for.

I'm looking for a mobile PA system that will allow me to reinforce some small-to-medium-scale music events (mostly guitars and voice plus some analogue synth maybe, plus announcements of course, and recorded music). I'm not a professional and therefore wouldn't like to spend much, and used gear is fine as well. I have everything I need up to the main mixer which gives me balanced output on many channels. So I need speaker(s) and some power amp(s).

Recently I tested a 10" two-way powered PA speaker that I could easily afford (in fact, it was a Behringer B210D, nothing special, but not no-name either), and decided that using this speaker would be an insult to my audience. The small stereo Hifi speakers I have sitting on the shelf at home do a much better job in every respect. What struck me most is that the PA speaker starts creating horrible distorted mushiness in the bass at volume levels easily handled without any loss of clarity by my Hifi system (whose power amplifier is rated something like 45W per channel only). Maybe the PA is just a bad unit, but my memory of PA systems at parties and other events in the past tells me that this is in general how cheap PA systems tend to behave.

So the question is: is it worth spending some more money (<$1000) and going JBL/EV/RCF/etc. instead of trying to spend <$200 on a speaker? Would a PA speaker costing 4-5 times the price of the Behringer behave significantly better?