The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Live vox FX box with a (British) early 80s vibe? Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 18th April 2019
Lives for gear

Live vox FX box with a (British) early 80s vibe?

Hi all,

I'm a producer and mixer but have been out of game in terms of playing live, for a number of years, and even more ignorant when it comes to live/stage vox FX boxes.

I'm looking to take a project that's been a studio album for the past few years on the road - and the album is heavy on vocal FX. The vocal style is much in the vein of early 80s British artists like Tears for Fears, Depeche Mode, The Smiths, The Cure, Kate Bush.

So on the album there's lots of Lexicon 224, 480, a fair bit of H3000 for Micropitchshift style FX, and in some cases, actual harmonisation (although this is lowest on the list priority wise) or their plugin emulations/equivalents. A bit of SPX90ii here and there too.

I'm aware that many of those artists don't use much FX when live, but for our stuff, it would sound really be lacking if it were 'dry'.

The sound man would be in charge of the FX, it's not something that the singer would be controlling or tweaking on stage. More of 'call up a preset per song' type of affair.

Can anyone suggest something under, say £300 (used) that can handle these duties? I would probably buy second hand, so that budget should hopefully stretch a bit further than new.

Or would we best off racking up the SPX90ii and using that? Or perhaps that for 'Pitch Shift C' and then something for reverb/delay.... that way we could buy another 1 or 2U reverb/delay unit and have a much nicer reverb/delay unit, and buy a rack case too.

Cheers!

Ed

Last edited by The Beatsmith; 18th April 2019 at 01:13 PM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Anyone?

Much appreciated!
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear