The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Midas M32 96 Input Channels??? Mixers (Digital)
Old 5th April 2019
Here for the gear

Midas M32 96 Input Channels???

So I have been searching for awhile now for this answer and I cannot find definitively. The Midas M32 boasts that via AES50 you can connect up to 96 input channels and 96 outputs. Is this the case that a board with only 16 physical faders and 2 pages of fader banks can run 96 simultaneous channels or is Midas blowing smoke? My suspicion is that you can connect up to 96 input channels but only assign 32 to work simultaneously. I am an analog sound engineer working to push my church to digital so I am trying to understand my best path.
Old 5th April 2019
Gear Nut
My understanding is that the M32 can not go past 32 channels simultaneously.
Old 5th April 2019
That's correct, you can connect more channels but the console cannot use them all simultaneously, it doesn't have sufficient DSP to do so.
Old 5th April 2019
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoeditor08 View Post
Is this the case that a board with only 16 physical faders and 2 pages of fader banks can run 96 simultaneous channels or is Midas blowing smoke? My suspicion is that you can connect up to 96 input channels but only assign 32 to work simultaneously. I am an analog sound engineer working to push my church to digital so I am trying to understand my best path.
I have an M32 as the center of my studio, and I teach live sound management to churches that have M32's and X32's.

Each of the two AES50 ports (A and B) in the M32 can handle 48-channels-in and 48-channels-out. That's where the 96-in/96-out number comes from.