The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Dynamic mic for live - rap vocals Dynamic Microphones
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Dynamic mic for live - rap vocals

Hi all,

I am looking to buy a new vocal dynamic mic and I would like to get an advice from you and your experience.

I am a hip hop artist and i am currently using Sennheiser e 945, but it seems that I have problems with sibilance. I like how clear and detailed it sounds. I do not like the dullness of the Shure sm58 and the Beta58 does not suit me too.

I am singing close to the mic, so the plosives should be handled well and as I said I do have problem with the sibilance.

So I am looking for a dynamic mic (maybe cardioid pattern) for live performance, but I would like to have a dynamic mic for studio use too.

I am currently checking these mics: Beyerdynamic v70d / v50d; Lewitt mtp 550 dm; AKG d7; Telefunken m80;

Thanks in advance!
Old 2 weeks ago
S21
Lives for gear

i would suggest positioning the mic differently before buying a new mic.
Old 1 week ago
S21
Lives for gear

Maybe start with a 30deg downwards tilt?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
KSM8 from Shure. $500 new. Can find used for about $300.
50 year update to the SM58

This is the current mic for HBO boxing, Presidential debates, etc.
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear
Agreed with S21

None of those mics mentioned are going to decrease sibilance, they are all dynamic, intermediate to professional equipment, and will all have a similar response in the upper frequencies. Not to mention the sennheiser is a fantastic mic for the money.

I'd suggest holding the mic lower from your chin on any s sounds.

You could use EQ to notch out 1 to 2 dB between 5kHz and 8kHz, but you will lose a little intelligibilty.. ie. You won't sound as clear to your audience.