The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Neutrik Speakon cables/jacks - 2 vs. 4 pole question
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Neutrik Speakon cables/jacks - 2 vs. 4 pole question

I need speaker cables - strictly for sub cabinets, no bi-amping.

I'm new to using speakon plugs/jacks and just discovered the 2/4 pole thing.

My new power amp takes 2 or 4 pole connectors.

Do I want to install 2 pole or 4 pole jacks in my subs?

And do I want 2 or 4 pole cables?

Thanks.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvdd View Post
I need speaker cables - strictly for sub cabinets, no bi-amping.

I'm new to using speakon plugs/jacks and just discovered the 2/4 pole thing.

My new power amp takes 2 or 4 pole connectors.

Do I want to install 2 pole or 4 pole jacks in my subs?

And do I want 2 or 4 pole cables?

Thanks.
It depends...

If you want "future proof" investment, go NL4 all the way so if you ever need to run an amp bridged or to minimize the number of cables/runs by using 4 pole jacks on your subs and pass signal to your tops with a jumper...you can.

So it depends.
Old 1 week ago
Do it right the first time

NL4 all the way.
Yes, four conductor cables with NL4's are more expensive than NL2 & two conductor cables...but....
...if you ever upgrade (never say never) and you bought NL2's you would most likely be stuck.
Buy once, cry once applies here.
Old 1 week ago
S21
Lives for gear

Definitely NL4 connectors. If you install NL2 on your equipment then commonly available NL4 cables won't fit.

I went with 2-wire cables, but that makes my cables less useful to others. 2-wire is all I need.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

I'm seeing "PLOYNK Neutrik" brand cables on eBay.

Are these real Neutrik or junk?
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvdd View Post
I'm seeing "PLOYNK Neutrik" brand cables on eBay.