The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Stage keyboard piano sound Digital & Stage Pianos
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Stage keyboard piano sound

Hi all,

I am mainly a classical and Jazz pianist and I have been reconsidering my live sound system and equipment overall.
Some of my questions and topics that I’ll be asking below have been somewhat discussed in this forum or other forums in the past but wasn’t necessarily directly addressed, or, if they were, it was couple years back. Technology has changed with lots of new good stuff out there. Therefore, I would like your opinions of what’s currently the best sound system for a live keyboard setting.
I am reconsidering my equipment due to a change in budget and also have been using my gear for a little while now and would like to get better quality.

I have a Roland RD300nx 88 and a Behringer K900fx PA/keyboard amp. I practice all the time with headphones at home for getting the highest sound quality. I used mostly the grand piano sound on it to practice and play live. I am aware that it’s close to impossible to have the same sound quality and feel/touch than a nice grand piano on a stage keyboard, but I found that the RD300nx is compensating for that a lot, even though there are better keyboards out there. Maybe worth mentioning that I had a Korg SV1 88 before switching to the RD300nx but found the touch/feel and sound quality not as good than the RD300nx. Also, I’m aware that it’s hard to achieve the sound quality of headphones using a PA system or else. But I would like to aim for the best I can get.

I am thinking in the upcoming month/year to upgrade my keyboard to a the relatively new Nord Stage 3 88 and possibly getting a real upright piano for home practice. With that being said, now we can discuss sound system.