The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Any tips for a new roadie? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Any tips for a new roadie?

Howdy!*

I was just searching on the internet and came across this thread. I am just starting out and was wondering if you could give me some tips on how to land a job? I mean, is there an area where it's good for newcomers? The 'traveling for long periods of time and living out of a suitcase' is definitley not a problem, I've been traveling straight for the past 8 years. Also, I am super easy going and have a great, adaptable attitude.*

-Sandy
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Hey mate, you're on the wrong forum for this I'd say.
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mundox View Post
Hey mate, you're on the wrong forum for this I'd say.
Thanks for your help.
Old 1 week ago
Moved to correct spot.
Old 1 week ago
S21
Lives for gear

Bang on doors and talk to local staging companies.

Work will probably be highly intermittent to begin with.

Unless you "own a truck and your Dad is in the band" don't expect to go on the road without a few years of experience.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

I would recommend contacting your local stage hands union to see if they have any spots open. Get some experience and do the networking thing to land a road gig.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Work, work hard and try to learn everything about everything that’s relevant, or not...work on all types of gigs for all types of bands doing all types of things, and more than ever, learn how to manage the psychological aspects of this job. Don’t get tied up about being the most lovable guy, just be professional and remember that nobody is going to hire you if you can’t do the work, the more you can do is the more valuable you are to your employers...
Old 1 week ago
Gear Addict

Quote: