The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Anyone use DPA 4099 for ac. guitar? In noisy clubs? Condenser Microphones
Old 18th May 2018
Lives for gear

Anyone use DPA 4099 for ac. guitar? In noisy clubs?

I refuse to give up on trying to get a good live acoustic sound. Pick-ups just don't sound good - and I've tried just about all of them. Acoustic pick-ups essentially make guitars a different instrument IMO.

Has anyone used the 4099? I know they sound great, but I'm wondering how much crowd noise they pick up - and if it's even worth it. I had a K&K Meridian and loved it while experimenting at home...then basically had to turn off the mic and use only the pickup when I started playing out.

Would I have better luck just sticking a 57 in front of the 12th fret and trying to blend in a little with a pickup signal?

Your experiences appreciated!
Old 18th May 2018
Gear Addict

I wouldn't be that scared about the picking up of background noise in a loud pub. More about feedback.
Search for ToneDexter, maybe that box helps. I don't have it yet but it's ordered.
If you like I can tell you more once the ToneDexter arrives.
Old 18th May 2018
Lives for gear

If there is a lot of room sound/mains bleed on the stage, you're better off accepting that's where pickups shine and mics have lmited headroom/utility in comparison. Other factors/issues:

1. Guitar type. Some body styles/sizes work better. Ovation guitars were developed to address this. They worked well for Glen Campbell...

2. Technique. If you can't make your instrument project, no mic will sort it out from the ambient sound. You have to be able to kick it. Trying to push introverted, sensitive sound with tech in loud environs requires a pickup. There are good ones...not cheap.