The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
PA or ? for small room with low ceilings
Old 2nd April 2018
Here for the gear

PA or ? for small room with low ceilings

I hope someone can help me with my quandary.

I play solo and also in a duo in some very small pubs, and some have quite low ceilings. I use a Fishman SA220 when playing solo and add a mixer and a Yamaha DBR10 speaker for the duo. Some of these places are too small to have either speaker behind me, the only space is off to one side. There is often no room for monitors either. I have had feedback issues in the past with the SA220 and solved them by moving further away from the speaker. There are probably better ways to solve the issue, I am not technically minded but happy to learn.

I have a solo gig coming up where the room is approx 15' x 20', and the ceiling is approx 7' high. These are just general guesses from when I was in making the booking. I can't remember if there is carpet or not. I am slightly worried about feedback and wondering which option is going to be the best for this size room. I should add that the place will be packed, there is no way I could be heard without using amplification.

I use a Gibson J45 with a K&K mini pickup and a AKG D5 mic.

Thank you in advance for any advice!
Old 2nd April 2018
Lives for gear

The cardinal rule governing feedback is:

LOUDEST SOUND AT THE MIC WINS

So...

The stronger you sing, the easier it is to reduce the onset of the self-reinforcing feedback loop. If you've been letting the system do the work instead of having developed strong vocal muscles you're going to be limited in what you can achieve. In the mean time: