The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Portable router solution for ipad control? Mixers (Digital)
Old 18th January 2017
Here for the gear

Portable router solution for ipad control?

Hey all-

Currently combing the market to find a good router to purchase that I can bring to gigs that require iPad control over the console. First one I ordered (TP Link TL-WR940N) is massive in size! Looking for something I can throw in a laptop bag without it eating too much space.

Apple's Airport series has done me well in the past, but the price feels high...

Any recs? Thanks!
Old 18th January 2017
Gear Head

Airport express. Great range and never had a dropout
Old 18th January 2017
Here for the gear

I am by no means an expert, but I've had zero problems with an AirportExpress.
Bought it (relatively) cheap used on E(vil)bay.

d.
Old 19th January 2017
Gear Maniac

Pretty much "any router that works" unless you have any specific requirements.

A used router from ebay should do the job at low cost. As you've already learnt, have a look at ergonomics too.
Old 19th January 2017
Lives for gear
The TP link nano router thing is fine, otherwise the airport express gets good reviews (I own and use both regularly), its probably worth getting a router that works in the 5ghz spectrum as you are less likely to suffer from interference issues up there than you are in 2.4ghz
Old 19th January 2017
Lives for gear

I recommend against buying used routers. #1 reason people sell them is because they have to reset them too often. Not good for our purposes.