The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
LD Systems Curv 500 vs Turbosound Inspire IP2000 Mixers (Digital)
Old 27th December 2016
Here for the gear

LD Systems Curv 500 vs Turbosound Inspire IP2000

Hi All,

I'm a guitarist playing in a 4 piece classic rock band and I'm about to plunk down for my own PA system. I've done a lot of reading and studying with various products but I would really appreciate some opinions on what I've come up with.

Firstly my requirements:

1. $2500 - $3000 budget
2. System needs to be as small and compact (and light!) as possible so I can transport easily.
3. Must sound clear and be able to get relatively loud (we are playing small 100-150 ppl bars/pubs).
4. Need to be able to mix from anywhere.
5. Easy/quick to setup and tear down.

In my research I've boiled it down to 2 speaker systems and 2 mixers:

For the speakers:

LD Systems Curv 500 PS

Turbosound Inspire IP2000

I've heard a SINGLE Curv 500 setup and I was blown away by how loud and clear it was. I wasn't thrilled with the onboard mixer but I'm not really looking to use it much. It was extremely lightweight. Really, it's only down side was that it was $300 more for the unit and an additional $200 for the bags to carry it.

I have NOT heard the Turbosound but have read in numerous places that it's sound is great and loud as well. From the specs, it appears the SPL is higher on the Curv but I'm not sure how that would sound in real life vs each other.

The one big negative on the Turbosound is the weight of the sub unit, it's in the neighborhood of 50lbs. I believe the Curb sub is around 30lbs.

The big positive for the Turbosound is the price.

For the mixer:

I'm torn between the Behringer X AIR16 and the X18 (desktop version). I can't blow the budget on the X AIR18 (Air 16 = 399 X18 = 499 X AIR18 = 699).