The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mixdown Depression
Old 12th July 2017
Here for the gear

Mixdown Depression

So this has happened to me more times then I can count and I would love to hear what other users do to combat it.

I'm a house producer and mixdown my own music at the end stage. I've had external mixers in the past but for the most part I'm really trying to do it myself as it's just as creative as the writing stage for my type of music.

More often then not when I get to mixing, even when I've had weeks away from the projects, I go into a bit of a depressed state where I totally lose perspective on the mix.

One of the hardest things is the kick/bass relationship, I'll reference tracks against my mix but there's no objective meter in my mind of whether I'm hitting the right point of not. I start thinking "how do I know the kick is good" and just go into this spiral of uncertainty where I think whatever I've got must almost certainly be bad.

This has also built up from times where I thought the mix was rock solid after checking it on different speakers, then listening months later to a final master and thinking why did I pick this sample or this sound when playing it out in the club.

I definatley believe in Gearslutz's central tenant which is use your ears, but in this case my mind is playing tricks on me as well. Is there metering for comparision or any other techniques in the box as well as anything mental you guys might recommend to stop me getting in this rut?
Old 12th July 2017
Lives for gear

Maybe get away from the reference tracks for awhile.
when I mix my own songs, I don't use references anymore. I just mix it the way I think it sounds best. I don't care what its "supposed" to sound like anymore.
I go for feel more than peer sound matching.
Might be a worthwhile experiment to try.
Start a track from scratch, no reference, mix it to what you think sounds good to you. Different is good?
Old 12th July 2017
Lives for gear