The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
best dock or midi/audio interface for 2018 ipad?
Old 26th March 2019
Gear Nut

best dock or midi/audio interface for 2018 ipad?

Hi all, I'm new to the iOS game with a 2018 ipad 128GB and have some questions.

I have seen docks for older ipads, I was wondering if there were any dock options for the model I got?

Or am I better off just getting the camera adapter, USB hub, and midi/audio interface? Any recommended interfaces that play well with iOS?

Is the apple brand USB adapter the one to get? What is the USB C port used for? Power only?

If I get a USB hub does it need to be self-powered?

I was also considering getting the apple pencil. Do you guys use one?

TIA.

So far I have Gadget 2 and it is awesome. I'll probably pick up beatmaker 3 next for its sampling capability, and Nave since I miss my blofeld I sold.
Old 7th April 2019
Gear Nut

Wow. So there’s no dock available any more? Or what?

I picked up the usb-c camera adapter. Next I need a powered hub to plug in a few devices.
Old 7th April 2019
Here for the gear

Hey Flynn i got my Ipad pro last year (just before the new model came out) and i got the Focusrite itrack dock,it is excellent would deffo recommend it,sounds ace.
Old 9th April 2019
Gear Addict

On my 2017 iPad I first bought the non powered adapter : it failed to feed my Audient iD14 (the card itself needs anyway to be powered by its wallwart). So I had to find the powered adapter (USB + power) to run fine. I'm sure there are better options, like the RME Babyface Pro which can handle both audio and midi by itself.
Old 10th April 2019
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by mininoyz View Post