The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
ipad 2017 or 2018 models Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

ipad 2017 or 2018 models

hey guys,
im totally new to ios. but i decided to get an ipad for cubase pro ic. i need an option to remote control my system and the newer 2017 and 2018 models are rather budged friendly.

yesterday i found cubasis - how cool. now im wondering which ipad to get when i want to record on the go. the new 2018 model is about 100€ more, but features the faster a10 processor. as said, i never used cubasis but im wondering if cpu speed is an issue.
can anyone report about cubasis cpu demands? will i benefit from the faster processor or does it not matter at all? i would not mind paying less but id hate to have lag and stability issues. i will use this for cubasis and ic pro only.

thanks a lot and sorry for being a total ios noob
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

If your a keyboard player at all I'd get an iPad Pro .. it has 4gb of RAM vs 2gb on the 2018 which goes a long way using the excellent sounding synths and plugins available for IOS. I don't even use those 2 computers and 3 monitors full of DAW's and VST's in this pic anymore .. prefering the more simple and intimate workflow of Cubasis on the iPad. These things are addicting .. be forewarned

Quote:
Originally Posted by salomonander View Post
hey guys,
im totally new to ios. but i decided to get an ipad for cubase pro ic. i need an option to remote control my system and the newer 2017 and 2018 models are rather budged friendly.

yesterday i found cubasis - how cool. now im wondering which ipad to get when i want to record on the go. the new 2018 model is about 100€ more, but features the faster a10 processor. as said, i never used cubasis but im wondering if cpu speed is an issue.