The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
When 'old' meets young...
Old 21st September 2020
When 'old' meets young...

Hi all ! Where shall I start ? I started playing guitar at the age of 5. At that time (1967) I had no idea on the existence of synthesizers, let alone the fact they were expensive as hell.

At the age of 16, I got my first synth as a present of my father. That was a Roland SH1000. Since I was really born to make music, luck fell into my hands and I started working in a music shop at 21. Instead of marrying and building a house and getting children, my occupation was buying and selling synthesizers.

I also started working in a professional recording studio at the age of 26 because I wanted to become a studio engineer instead of a sales guy in a music shop although this went on till I was 32.
No joke if I tell you my first job was to clean up mess after sessions.

I also took lessons in songwriting, arrangements, music production, sound design. Although it was private since in Belgium no decent school existed at that time.
(something like SAE i.e.)

Later, I started working with a very well known EU AV-production company partly as sound tech, and partly as customer relations. Later Production.

In 97, Together with my best friend we started a small dance festival that became one of the better dance-festivals in Belgium. (250 dj's - 60K visitors in 2007) However, due to 'business' circumstances, we decided both to leave and it does not exist any more.

If you check my (old) equipment list, please don't be offended as I really owned a lot of nowadays classics. That was because back in the 90's I owned a recording studio.
Because of my occupation in the event-industry, one day I decided to sell the studio and set up a home-studio just for my hobby.