The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Lost in a sea of brain cables
Old 15th June 2020
Here for the gear

Lost in a sea of brain cables

Hiiii!

Ok so basically here’s the deal.

I learned classical piano from 6-12, and then taught myself guitar from that, and I sing. I’m not very good at any of them now (26), but I can hold a tune and improv some of this and that, you know, I play at open mics and people compliment me, but I can’t finish turning my poetry into a complete song due to lack of proficiency lol. So, you know. More like a wannabe. Or a hobbyist. Or a never-gonna-be because my perfectionist streak won’t allow it.

Personal details aside, I’ve been wandering around pretty lost in life for quite some time. When I recall times in my life I was at my best, it’s hands down the time I started DJ’ing. I picked it up fast but wasn’t in a position to set myself up (I was 15), so relied on a place to play their gear. Then an Earthquake happened and drowned all the gear (and my CD collection).

I gave up on music after that. For a long time.

I got back into acoustic stuff a couple of years ago.

Over lockdown I played on FL and bam, the overwhelming urge to produce doof doof music hit me like a ton of bricks and basically I’m gonna drop all my (not very many)?savings on the set up I need to allow me the ability to make music the way I want to. I don’t know f all about synths to be honest, but I know that’s how I’m going to get my ideas out. Straight on FL was fine but I’m just a bit more fidgety than that.

I need a mic so I can sing, rap, and speak.
I need something that can easily add effects to said vocals.
I’m going to try different DAWs but I’m leaning towards the Korg volca series for hardware so I’ll use whatever is the most compatible with that, I suppose.
I want an easy to use bass maker?