The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Old newbie here... DAW Software
Old 21st December 2016
Here for the gear
Old newbie here...

Long-time visitor, new joiner...
53 YO who found his lifetime hobby far into middle-age. I've been "into" music my whole life, drum lessons on grade school, switching to bass in HS & college. Got married and sold my gear so I could say I grew up. Few years ago, got the bug to play after playing the "Rock Band" video game. Going to Friday night karaoke shows just weren't cutting it anymore...After getting a bass for Xmas a few years ago, the sickness started...Now at 12 guitars & counting, I've made the leap into learning the digital recording/producing process. It's been almost as rewarding as playing (and nearly as costly). I read nearly everything I can get my hands on to improve my setup, workflow, engineering abilities. After a couple years of working on it I think my producing has eclipsed my crappy guitar skills but it really doesnt matter...I make music for me. Most of the people that influenced my music tastes are the singer/songwriter types like John Hiatt & Elvis Costello, guitar players like Mark Knopfler and alt-country bands like Blue Rodeo...Sorry about the life-story but discovering that making music filled a void in my life is A badge I'll wear proudly.
Old 21st December 2016
Gear Addict
Glad you're here and that you re-found your love for music!
Old 21st December 2016
Welcome to the wonderful world of music
Enjoy the journey
Old 21st December 2016
Greetings Tony253,

Welcome to Gearslutz!

Glad you decided to get back into music with your new bass and guitars!

Cheers!
Old 22nd December 2016
Engagement Manager

@Tony253
No need to apologise for the back story as it's alway great to hear about people getting more into music
An old newbie...
Hmm... You're an Olbie!
Old 22nd December 2016