The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Chess players?
Old 5th June 2018
Lives for gear

Chess players?

Anyone play?
I've been learning the game for over 25 years.
Love it.
Old 5th June 2018
Engagement Manager

I used to play every night after leaving the studio
I keep trying to get back into it but struggle to find the time
Plus my game has got week which annoys me no end
Old 6th June 2018
I played a lot when I was younger but not much lately. Occasionally, I'll fire up the chess computer!

I also used to really enjoy playing Battle chess!

Old 12th June 2018
Lives for gear
lol - holy hell you're old I had one of those all in one play-the-computer things way back when.

I haven't played for many years. Used to semi-regular with a friend, we were both respectable I think but nothing great. Frankly I doubt I would have the patience for it now (or it's just laziness, too much brain strain to try and analyze all the possibilities).
Old 14th June 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill5 View Post
lol - holy hell you're old I had one of those all in one play-the-computer things way back when.

I haven't played for many years. Used to semi-regular with a friend, we were both respectable I think but nothing great. Frankly I doubt I would have the patience for it now (or it's just laziness, too much brain strain to try and analyze all the possibilities).
LOL! Yeah, I just turned 55 a few days ago.

That battle chess program was released shortly after the VGA and super VGA graphics cards began to be manufactured. I remember how impressed I was by the quality of the graphics and a couple of decades later, how awful it looked compared with the new Nvidia cards.

BTW I was looking to see what other chess programs were out and ran across Game of Kings, a newer version of the famous Battle Chess. It was made by Interplay and now you can still get it from Steam.

Interplay
Battle Chess: Game of Kings™ on Steam

Old 14th June 2018