The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Cookeryslutz
Old 9th April 2017
Cookeryslutz

Yes. Cookeryslutz.

OK so obviously the focus is on the gear; ovens, refridgeration, tools, furniture, storage, kitchen gadgets, etc, - as well as food, nutrition and technique.

I'm a ex pro-chef (damn it feels good to say "pro" at last) and enabler/facilititator of good food. This is in the engineering section as I do see cookery as a science and engineering method as well as an art. I learnt about science and biology via cooking; also, economics, human relations, psychology.

A great dish is like a great mix: take best quality possible raw ingredients and combine them to produce something greater than the ingredients alone. The greatest chefs often enjoy the simplest of foods, letting the flavours of the earth and sea speak for themselves; conversely, they realise their livelihood depends on a little confection and showmanship...a gastronomic dream for the sleepy audience.

My favourite kit consists of 1 or 2 knives: Sabatier 11 3/4" and 71/2", a peeler and a steel to sharpen the knives - with these I can do most anything. My favourite powered tool is the hand-held blender which saves so much time over the manual method (my job as an apprentice).

As I write this I have a loaf of home-made bread rising and ready to go into a hot oven; I like the baking process as it creates chapters in my audio day, I get exercise kneading the bread, the smell permeates my studio and neighbourhood. It tastes good although it's a lifelong quest for the 'perfect loaf.'

What are you cooking and eating? What gear do you use?
Old 9th April 2017
Lives for gear

Currently have my coq au vin in the oven, traditional recipe but with a brace of pheasant whole instead of chicken joints. Its out of season but I reckon it cooks better if hung for 7-10 days then frozen.

Robert Welch kitchen knives, a 4" paring and 8" cook's covers pretty much anything. And no steel for me, I have one of these bolted down: