The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Difficulty to decide which monitors to buy (PMC vs Amphion vs Genelec vs others)
Old 12th March 2015
Lives for gear

Difficulty to decide which monitors to buy (PMC vs Amphion vs Genelec vs others)

I think it is very difficult to decide which monitor to audition/ buy. Although I live in a major city with various pro gear stores I cannot audition them easily. Most stores mostly stock cheaper monitors because most clients won't buy the "serious" stuff. Long story short, I won't be able to test the stuff adequately at the same time in the same room. However, I might try one system at a time and return it to try the next one if not satisfied with some specific dealers.

I am a bedroom producer (all kinds of music, mainly electronic dance & hip hop music) looking for "budget high end" like the "cheap" lineup of active PMC monitors. I was hoping to get away @3500€ or so but when saving some time I could afford an even more expensive system (like Genelec 8351). However I am a bedroom producer and I think 3500€ already is pushing it quite a bit. The room is not adequate in my eyes for much more.
Old 12th March 2015
Lives for gear

Choice: Amphion Two18 or Barefoot MM27 Gen2 or Genelec 8351

Check out this thread. You might find some good info here.

I'd like to know how good the Amphions are for tracking.
Old 12th March 2015
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eigenwert View Post
I am a bedroom producer (all kinds of music, mainly electronic dance & hip hop music) looking for "budget high end" like the "cheap" lineup of active PMC monitors. I was hoping to get away @3500€ or so but when saving some time I could afford an even more expensive system (like Genelec 8351). However I am a bedroom producer and I think 3500€ already is pushing it quite a bit. The room is not adequate in my eyes for much more.