The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Best nearfields for low-volume monitoring in small/subpar rooms? Studio Monitors
Old 23rd February 2015
Gear Addict

Best nearfields for low-volume monitoring in small/subpar rooms?

Hi all. I'm in the market for some monitors. I'm not a professional engineer, and I have no clients to impress. This is for my own project. I need a pair of monitors purely for mixing and mastering, no audiophile pleasure-listening. I work on electronic music + vocals.

Based on my research thus far, I've gathered I need to be looking for the following:

1. Sealed cabinet design, no ports
2. 5"-7" woofer, definitely no larger than 8"
3. Doesn't require monitoring at high volume to be useable
4. EQ/room controls

I also understand that I'll have to do quite a bit of my mixing, especially regarding the low end, on headphones. But obviously, I need a pair of revealing, neutral monitors to check my stereo imaging and balance out what I get from headphones.

So, what sub-$10k pair of active monitors would you use if you weren't in an ideal space and/or moved around a lot? I see a lot of manufacturers are advertising their monitors as being feasible tools in a variety of spaces, have any of them actually pulled it off?
Old 24th February 2015
Amphion are looking very nice. Although i havent used them, I'm only going off what others say.

Products | Amphion
Old 24th February 2015
Gear Maniac

If you're not going loud then you shouldn't need correction/eq (point 4).

If you're not after "audiophile pleasure-listening" then I'd say ns10's, they're popular for a reason.

If you've got 10k to throw around, probably mm27's.
Old 24th February 2015
Unity Audio's The Boulder fit's your bill. I have the Rock monitors and love 'em.
Old 24th February 2015
Old 24th February 2015
Lives for gear