The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
DBX 160VU matched pair Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 15th February 2015
Lives for gear

DBX 160VU matched pair

I have a chance to purchase a matched pair of the 160vu. I am a record producer (composer) and my studio has a bunch of instruments that i track when creating. I have it mixed elseehere. So the DBX is more as arsenal for tracking music/vocals. I take the approach of setting up the chain and leaving it with minor tweeks.
My current comp/limit set up is CL1b, Vintage La2a, MC76, dbx160x, 4 Melcor Cl-20 on console. I record drums, synth buss, vocals, e guitar cabs, e gtr sims, acoustic guitars etc.
Hope to get some advise from users if the VU may compliment what I have and it's uses.
Thx
Old 16th February 2015
Lives for gear

Would love some thoughts....
Old 16th February 2015
Lives for gear

Dbx 160VUs shine on kik drum, snare and bass. I'm sure they can be effective on vox and other instruments but that's not their sweet spot IMO.
Old 16th February 2015
Lives for gear

Thanks. Any uses for a matched stereo pair? Any other thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Old 16th February 2015
Lives for gear

Well, I do have a pair. One is a paralell bass compressor and the other is a paralell kick and snare compressor. So, sorry, never used them elsewhere. If you find something let us know! Good luck.
Old 16th February 2015
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
Well, I do have a pair. One is a paralell bass compressor and the other is a paralell kick and snare compressor. So, sorry, never used them elsewhere. If you find something let us know! Good luck.
that pretty much where my pair lives to.
I also saw Jim Scott recently printing a kick/snare compressed track through one.sounds good.
Old 16th February 2015
Gear Guru