The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
IGS LA ONE vs Doublewide
Old 25th November 2014
IGS LA ONE vs Doublewide

Hy, guys-

Im trying to sort out which of these to get. Ive seen some posts about each unit individually, but any thoughts on this comparison? Im looking for a very colorful, warm sounding comp. I have plenty of transparent, fast compressors, so I'm looking for something with a little something something, which is why I turned my eye towards tube comps for the 500 series.

i realize one is opto and one is vari mu... which to be honest I've never worked with a vari mu before so I'm not sure what the end result is. All i know is that the compression happens within the tubes in some way.

Id predominately be recording bass, voice and some hand percussion with it. Theres something compelling about the simplistic operation of the LA 2A format, but I'm just wondering if anyone has both of these in their studio and which one are they loving more?
Old 25th November 2014
Lives for gear

If you like something la2aish, you could also ckeck out the crane song falcon, which gives you more options.
Old 25th November 2014
Yeah i looked at the Crane Song. but its just a little pricey and a friend of mine says that if your looking for color, it may be a little too much on the clean/transparent side for you. I mean anything Dave Hill is beyond reproach, but I'm not sure that its the right fit in this particular instance.
Old 26th November 2014