The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Summing Q: with and without a console's center section
Old 5th October 2014
Lives for gear

Summing Q: with and without a console's summing section

Hey all. I have some experience with using large format analog consoles (Neve and SSL) but not a ton, and certainly not enough from the design and building aspect to know what I am about to ask.

The understanding I have, is that when it comes to analog summing, what you really want are the channels of a console summed through the summing section. I have not done any a/b tests, but I can tell you from experience, that taking a couple of ch strips, and running a mix in and out, does not do a whole lot for the signal in terms of improvements, (color, depth, warmth, etc). So I wonder if you have a couple of ch strips, and were able to get your hands on the summing section of a good large format analog console - would running the audio in to the strips, then through the summing section, and then out be beneficial? Anyone have any thoughts/experiences they wish to share?

Thanks!
Old 5th October 2014
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by drtechno View Post
if you are expirencing changes from the center section, and no parts have been changed, most likely its a power supply related issue or soldering on interconnecting backplanes. A tech can see if there is low +/- voltages on the ends.
I am sorry, I am not sure what you are talking about...?
Old 5th October 2014
Lives for gear

Dude - I appreciate your knowledge, but I am not sure what you are on about. I am trying to see how what you are saying relates to my Q. Maybe it does - I am just not sure I see it.

I do not currently have any stand-alone channels; I do not have a center section, nor any PSUs.

Cheers.
Old 6th October 2014
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Hayat View Post