The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Portico 5012 vs. 5043 - identical sonic imprint? Condenser Microphones
Old 27th September 2014
Portico 5012 vs. 5043 - identical sonic imprint?

Does anyone own both these units? Do they impart more or less the same sound? Is the preamp a little more detailed?

I'm a classical pianist and Artistic Director of a modern acoustic/electronic ensemble. I'm starting up a DIY label with the intention of putting out my own recordings of myself and my group, as well as some of my colleagues. I recently bought an AEA R88 stereo ribbon, and an Apogee Symphony I/O, and I have two compressors, an Avalon 747 and a Portico 5043.

I know, conventional wisdom is you don't compress classical, but I don't play Mozart. The stuff I do is often very aggressive and in most cases I LOVE what the 5043 does for the sound, even if I barely hit the gain reduction. I did notice once, on a recording done by a friend using Schoeps mk8 and recording as DSD, the 5043 did take away some of the detail in the very quiet stuff. It's a thicker tone but it's maybe a little blunter as well.

At any rate, I'm considering picking up a Portico 5012. I'm wondering does it give the same luxurious, deep, and compelling sound as the compressor but perhaps a bit more detailed? Or if I recorded using say the AEA TRP and then ran through the 5043 after, would it more or less do the same thing? I'm probably going to get the TRP either way, but as there have already been recordings where I wanted that sound I'm wondering if it might be better to have the 5012 as well, especially if it does something a little different? I've enjoyed using a parallel setup, where I can dial in as much of that Portico sound as I think the track needs, I can imagine using the preamp like this as well.