The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
500 series colored master buss EQ 500 Series EQ\'s
Old 3rd September 2014
500 series colored master buss EQ

Hey guys. Question:

I am setting up a 500 series rack for my master buss. I currently have the Eylsia xPressor and xFilter as my "clean ssl-ish" stereo buss set.

I also just got a sweet deal on a Shadow Hills Dual Vandergraph, so Im looking for recommendations for an EQ set that would compliment a more "colored"...maybe a little darker...eq to pair with the DV, so that i have a clean master buss comp/eq and a colored master buss comp/eq. It doesn't have to be a stereo EQ of course.

Any recommendations?
Old 3rd September 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by terraamb01 View Post
Hey guys. Question:

I am setting up a 500 series rack for my master buss. I currently have the Eylsia xPressor and xFilter as my "clean ssl-ish" stereo buss set.

I also just got a sweet deal on a Shadow Hills Dual Vandergraph, so Im looking for recommendations for an EQ set that would compliment a more "colored"...maybe a little darker...eq to pair with the DV, so that i have a clean master buss comp/eq and a colored master buss comp/eq. It doesn't have to be a stereo EQ of course.

Any recommendations?
Try out a pair of Rupert Neve 542's
Its fairly easy to use a pair on the mix, for a "flava" injection.

Hit the 15ips button,

Love life,

peace
Old 3rd September 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mixwell View Post
Try out a pair of Rupert Neve 542's
Its fairly easy to use a pair on the mix, for a "flava" injection.

Hit the 15ips button,

Love life,

peace
So i was wondering about those... i use UAD tape on my master buss inside Logic. Usually the AMPEX... would this be a better "replacement" to those plugins? I've heard mixed things about these tape saturators. Is it worth buying two for the master buss?