The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Large format vs. small format consoles
Old 4th April 2014
Lives for gear

Large format vs. small format consoles

The thread I found recently debating the merits of a Neve 5088 vs an API The Box got me thinking. On the thread there was a near-hijack level debate about how much money is reasonable to spend on a console.

I'm not a pro, I'm a serious hobbyist with extra money from my day job that allows me to buy pretty good gear. What I want to know from those with more experience than I have is: how much difference is there between a large format console like the $50,000 Neve 5088 and, say, a Toft? Or an API 1608 vs say, a Midas Venice?

I have no doubt that the Neve/API are better, but are they 10 times better?

What are the big differences between the two levels of console? Can a person make a record on a sub-$10,000 small format console that will sound as good as he or she could make on a $50,000 plus console?

Just curious. Thanks for your opinions.
Old 4th April 2014
Lives for gear
Of course you can record anything on anything and hits have been made that way. The bigger the console, the more things it can do. I wouldn't even call a Toft or a Midas a console--those are mixers. In my book, a true LFAC has inline channel strips, direct outs, 3 or more speaker selectors, multiple external source monitor inputs, and truly is the hub of a studio because it can control transport on external machines. If you can't press play on it, you've got a mixer.
Old 4th April 2014
Lives for gear

You also will not find the construction issues in the better consoles.

If you have channels dying, scratchy faders, etc in the first couple years of owning a console..... run away.

Many old consoles are still running fine 30-40 tears later.
Old 4th April 2014
Lives for gear

Well.. Ryan Freeland records and mixes with two API 8200 type units which total