The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
1176 Blue Stripe questions. Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 27th February 2014

1176 Blue Stripe questions.

Ok so after being at Armando's last month and hearing his vintage Blue Stripe 1176 on the vocals I had cut and can't stop thinking about how firkin awesome it sounded. I have no experience owning a Blue Stripe (I believe is rev B maybe?) but I have owned a number of 1176's for years; new, old and Purple. I currently have a UA re-issue and a Urei Rev F. Both I really like. The F I use a lot on vocals, has a nice wet, somewhat bright sheen. The UA is darker and thinker. I really like it on bass. My question is how does a Blue Stripe compare sound and function wise to a rev F? What makes it the vocal 1176? Does anyone make a new version that captures the mojo of the original?

Thanks
James
Old 27th February 2014
Lives for gear

I believe that it reduces gain differently (partially program dependent?), and it uses different line amps.

The only way I know to get a new one is to build one or have one built from MNATS boards.
Old 28th February 2014
Built a Blue stripe Hairball audio 1176 and its killer! dont know if it hangs with the original but i can tell you it definitely sounds different than the REV D black face that Hairball makes, I built 2 of those and had a buddy bring over his current production UA1176 and it was nearly impossible to tell them apart. As soon as HB gets in more REV A kits and I get my studio remodel done, Im going for a stereo pair.. SQUISH!!!
Old 28th February 2014
Lives for gear