The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Shadow Hills GAMA 8 vs. Aurora GTP-8 Multi-Channel Preamps
Old 4th June 2013
Shadow Hills GAMA 8 vs. Aurora GTP-8

I run a tiny studio in LA, record mostly broke ass student, musicians,... not really a for profit thing, although it does turn over from time to time. I'm a Software Engineer, so this is mainly a ridiculously expensive hobby for me.

Anyway.

I can't really find much information on the GAMA 8, I got a chance to dick with one VERY briefly in Johannesburg a few months ago, but nothing that really would make an impression.

My office is a block from Aurora Audio, and I've read very good things on the GTP-8, but haven't used it and can't make an informed decision.

Anyone have both these? or has used both these units?

I'm looking for a very clean workhorse series of 8... don't want much coloration, but don't want sterility either.

If either sounds 'better' subjectively on drums specifically I'd like to know.

Thoughts?
Old 4th June 2013
7+1
Lives for gear

Hi there.

Ive got the Gama here and have used the aurora on many instances... What i can say about the gamma is that the knobs are much bigger than the sound of the pre... If that makes sense? Its a good pre but honestly not the largest of sounds.. Somewhat reminds me of api ish... Which am not a monster fan of but the transformer selections does help...

As for the Aurora... I think it is a bit more open sounding.. and i like it a hell of alot more on drums verse the shadow hills..

my 2.6 cents...
Old 4th June 2013
Lives for gear