The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Sonosax MiniR82 help needed Condenser Microphones
Old 3rd March 2013
Gear Head

Sonosax MiniR82 help needed

I have been using the Sonosax MiniR82 recorder for several years now, I love this machine but have been having one unresolved issue with it. My original machine, number 0026, has been a totally reliable beast, in spite of everything I've done to it (including falling down while it was running in my pocket and trashing the hard drive, thanks Adam Liberman for repair and upgrade to a SSD). I bought a backup machine about five years ago, and soon noticed that it was occasionally swapping L/R channels on the analogue inputs. This was difficult to demonstrate, as the swaps seemed random and my stereo recordings didn't always have enough channel differentiation to make the swap immediately obvious (singers in staged opera do move from left to right sometimes). After a horrendous expense sending the machine back to Switzerland several times for servicing (Sonosax found nothing wrong) and swapping the machine twice for others that seemed to have the same problem, I gave up and relegated this machine to using with mainly digital input.

I say "mainly" because I use it to record a chamber music series with a Josephson C700S, with the X and Y (crossed figure 8 caps) going to a Grace V3 and then digitally into the MiniR82 on inputs 5 and 6. The W (omni capsule) goes directly into the R82 on mic input 1, I very rarely use this track, and so have inspected it only sporadically.