The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What exactly is thefunction of the EFX on the SSL Duality? Condenser Microphones
Old 12th January 2013
Gear Maniac

What exactly is thefunction of the EFX on the SSL Duality?

Hey guys I've been using an SSL Duality for a few months now and I'm still not 100% sure as to the function of the EFX function on the Duality. We use the EFX to track on the return side of the console so that during tracking we can use a personal monitoring system via the busses. I have read the operator manual and it is still a little fuzzy. I would like to know what the general function of EFX is in general so I can make better use of it in the future. Thanks in advance.
Old 12th January 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by will_gates00000 View Post
Hey guys I've been using an SSL Duality for a few months now and I'm still not 100% sure as to the function of the EFX function on the Duality. We use the EFX to track on the return side of the console so that during tracking we can use a personal monitoring system via the busses. I have read the operator manual and it is still a little fuzzy. I would like to know what the general function of EFX is in general so I can make better use of it in the future. Thanks in advance.
By assigning an EFX send to any buss/busses you open the door to 24 sends in a way. You only get one send control for them but you can pick 1 or up to all 24 with that single control. So for example 1-8 you could have compressors for parallel processing, 9-16 various reverbs/delays, 17-24 sends to ITB for interfacing plugins in your analog mix. Lots of possibilities.
Old 12th January 2013
Lives for gear

If you've ever used an SSL 4000, it's the rough equivalent of Floating the small fader to the Routing Matrix when they are set to pick up the output of the large fader.
Old 12th January 2013
Lives for gear