The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
A good pre to use with a Neumann TLM67 for lead vocal Single-Channel Preamps
Old 14th November 2012
Here for the gear

A good pre to use with a Neumann TLM67 for lead vocal

Hi to everybody ! I'm a new member of the forum and I have a great doubt.
I have a Neumann TLM67 and I'm trying to figure out which pre could be the best option (at a "decent" price) for a lead vocal; the TLM67 has a particular smoky/dark sound (in a good way!) and due to that the choice of the pre becomes crucial. I was thinking about a Great River ME-1NV (more vintage colour) or a less expensive Focusrite Isa ONE (more clean) but this is going to be my first stand-alone preamp and I've no great experience at all! Please, fell free to say anything (and any preamp name) that might help me not to make a mistake

P.S. Sorry for my english, I'm italian :D
Old 14th November 2012
Lives for gear

I think the ME-1NV would be a great option. It's got a lot of transformer goody'ness, and is a top notch bit of kit. Plenty of features, and one of the few units that I've almost heard not complaints about, at least relative to anything else. It can go from clean to dirty and everything in-between, and should lead you in the way of getting a nice tone across your mix.