The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Focusrite 5.1 Surround Red 3 compressor/limiter
Old 9th June 2006
Gear Addict

Well after a lot of hard work we have completed a custom Focusrite 5.1 Surround Red 3 System for a customer of ours. I thought all you Focusrite Red 3 fans would like a peek at this. Please excuse the pictures; I’m a tech not a photographer.

A few of the details:
  • All channels are transformer balanced in and out.
  • The compressor threshold, limiter threshold, and ratio pots have been replaced with rotary switches and precision resistors for exact repeatable settings.
  • The front panels were replaced to accommodate the rotary switches
  • The units can be operated as individual Red 3’s or linked into the 5.1 buss.
  • The 5.1 buss links the sidechains of both the Compressors and Limiters.
  • The Hi Pass Control inserts a selectable 80, 100, or 120Hz Hi Pass filter into the sidechains.
  • The LFE Control inserts a selectable 80, 100, or 120Hz Hi Pass filter into the LFE audio channel.

We were very careful not to drill any holes in any of the Red 3’s metalwork so that they could be returned to stock if so desired. You will also notice the rare “Red 0 Rack Enhancer” which was use to mount the 5.1 controls instead of a normal 19” rack panel.

So anybody want a 7.1 Surround version?

-Tony
Old 9th June 2006
Lives for gear

Whoa!!!!

I might want a 7.1 model down the road if this studio thing goes through.
Old 9th June 2006
Lives for gear

wow.
Old 9th June 2006
Lives for gear

Dang!! Nice freaking work, Tony!!

-dave
Old 9th June 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmarra
I thought all you Focusrite Red 3 fans would like a peek at this.
Is there any such?..... heh

Beautiful pictures though...
Old 9th June 2006
Lives for gear