The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Good(enough) converters for outboard gear
Old 30th May 2006
Gear Maniac
Good(enough) converters for outboard gear

Hi fellow-sluts...

I've been mixing ITB for a few years now.
Now that Cubase has this "Connect extarnel gear"-function, I've been thinkin of getting some outboard gear. Neve 5042, 5043, a distressor or two, some outboard EQs etc. The only thing I'm not sure of is how good converters I should have. I have a Fireface800 and have been reading about the converters not being very good, but what would be good enough? By good enough I mean converters that would not ruin the sound in a way from a DA to the outboard and back to AD. I've been thinking of getting a Lynx Aurora16, what do you folks think of this? Currently I can't afford both Apogee AD and DA 16 and I really need more than just one stereo DA-AD. I would also be tracking with this converter and using it as the main output of my mixes so the converter would be a very big part of the whole show.

Opinions / suggestions.

Thanks to all who bother to answer .

-- Mikko
Old 30th May 2006
Lives for gear

From some studio owners I heard about general lower reliability of Lynx converter compared to Apogee in professional 24/7 operation.
Lynx Aurora would be fine, it's sonically in Apogee class, although I would miss Firewire (16 ch I/O is not enough in my case).
Old 30th May 2006
Lives for gear

Though I wouldn't want to fuel another apogee vs. lynx debate, I do have a lynx aurora 16 coming to me instead of the Apogee's I had originally planned on. I can't say I've heard any issues with regards to reliability of the converters themselves -- if you're keeping your fireface, likely the most reliable way to use the Aurora would be to go ADAT in and out of the fireface and use RME's rock solid interfacing.