The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sound Proofing and Sound Treatment
Old 12th May 2006
Lives for gear

Sound Proofing and Sound Treatment

Hello All. I am a newbie here looking for a bit of advice on sound proofing, control/treatment. I've found a few valuable threads and have read quite a bit on Ethan Winers site.. as well as John Sayers. So, I guess what I am looking for is some confirmation on my studio plans... before I start throwing money at it. Here are the particulars... sorry if its too much detail, but I have seen other threaders give too little, and they were told so. : )
My studio is going to be housed in a townhome garage that has an attached room that I am going to use as a control room. The garage is your typical 20 x 20 x 9h (I know, not optimal) and the control room is 10 x 18 x 9h. The control room is separated from the garage by a 2 x 6 framed and insulated drywalled wall with no window. My neighbors are separated from me by a 10" thick concrete foundation that also has a 2 x 4 drywalled and insulated wall attached to it (so 2x4 drywall wall, 10" concrete, then 2 x 4 drywall wall). My living space above the garage is separated from the garage by 2 x 10 joists that are insulated and drywalled. Here are the problems (as I see them anyhow) and my potential solutions.

1) I think my separation from my neighbors considering there is 10" of concrete will probably be very sufficient in most cases, so I am thinking sound proofing the walls adjacent to my neighbors may not be necessary. My lingering concern is the sub bass. Basically, If I get complaints, I was going to treat those walls with Mass Loaded Vinyl like Auralex Sheetblok. And if that doesn't work, it will be more drywall and another inner wall. Does anyone have experience with Sheetblok? Its expensive, just not sure if it works.