The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Ribbon cable with DB25 Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 24th January 2012
Gear Nut

Ribbon cable with DB25

Hey all,

About to start a massive re-cable for my studio and have been suggested to use ribbon looms with DB25 ends (8ch per loom with the ribbon rolled into a circle and then covered /shielded and with 3M custom DB25 connector) The only thing is each ch in the ribbon is not isolated like in a standard audio cable loom, and as I've never used these types of cables before I'm wondering if crosstalk might be an issue?

The cool thing about using this type of cable is you can terminate 8 ch in one go, saving a heap of time = money...

Thoughts?
Old 24th January 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Bartlem View Post
Hey all,

About to start a massive re-cable for my studio and have been suggested to use ribbon looms with DB25 ends (8ch per loom with the ribbon rolled into a circle and then covered /shielded and with 3M custom DB25 connector) The only thing is each ch in the ribbon is not isolated like in a standard audio cable loom, and as I've never used these types of cables before I'm wondering if crosstalk might be an issue?

The cool thing about using this type of cable is you can terminate 8 ch in one go, saving a heap of time = money...

Thoughts?
all digital signals? Is ribbon cable rated for that bandwidth, and why not use Cat5?
Old 24th January 2012
Lives for gear

Hi
It can be used as long as you bear a few things in mind.
Signals should be balanced.
Signals all basically similar level, LINE level.
Keep runs as short as practicable, don't have an extra 5 feet for 'fun'.
Using ribbon is very convenient for example if you have 1 'source' and 2 or 3 'destinations' (inputs).
Yes I have tried doing this and the crosstalk for balanced signals sent at low impedance is pretty low.