The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What Do I Need?
Old 21st January 2012
Lives for gear

What Do I Need?

I know, I know, you can blast me for asking what is probably asked every day around here.

Here's my situation: I'm a musician recording from home and I'm using ...
Logic Pro 9, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24, new iMac computer, UA M610 pre, GAP Pre 73, Neumann TLM 103 mic (yeah, I know, most criticized mic on GS), AA CM12 mic, some other lower end mics, M-Audio BX5a monitors.

So say I had $2,000 to possibly spend on trying to get a better sound from my stuff. I rough-track at home and use a studio for mix down. The sound of my room is fine as-is, so no troubles there. What should I spend it on to get the most NOTICEABLE improvement in sound quality?

Thanks for any feedback.
Old 21st January 2012
Lives for gear

I know, you should do your own research and not rely on GS posters to answer things for you.
Old 22nd January 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianellefson View Post
I know, you should do your own research and not rely on GS posters to answer things for you.
Questions that doesn't get asked enough around here:

What kind of music do you make?

What kind of records do you like?

What do you like / dislike about the gear that you have?
Old 22nd January 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by baskervils View Post
Questions that doesn't get asked enough around here:

What kind of music do you make?

What kind of records do you like?

What do you like / dislike about the gear that you have?