The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Monitors for rock music..RECOMMENDATIONS PLEASE
Old 20th January 2012
Gear Maniac

Monitors for rock music..RECOMMENDATIONS PLEASE

Hey guys...

Have a home studio but like high end. Have Adam 2.5s and (yes I'm a beginner) they sound very flat....very with rock guitar (think Townshend to EVH). It's hard to get into the music.

Please share your thoughts....is it me...the monitors?

Recommendations on good monitors for rock. Thanks
Old 20th January 2012
Lives for gear

get a consumer stereo you like and figure how to hook it into your setup. "motivate" yourself on the stereo.

i'm not saying adam 2.5 are any good (they very well may be crap). but that's not even the topic of your post.

ns10 ruled for decades, its quite a dull speaker. the list goes on and on. The exception was the 1031, which i've found impossible to mix mids.

flattering sounding speakers more times than not churn out mixes that translate horribly.
Old 20th January 2012
Gear Maniac

Take a look at the Barefoot MM35's. If your home studio is short on space, near field monitors are your best bet, and they don't get much better than the MM35's. I've been using mine for almost three years and I couldn't be happier. Of course, if your room isn't treated, it's not going to make much of a difference no matter what you use.
Old 21st January 2012
Gear Maniac

just trying to be clear

Quote:
Originally Posted by latestflavor View Post
get a consumer stereo you like and figure how to hook it into your setup. "motivate" yourself on the stereo.

i'm not saying adam 2.5 are any good (they very well may be crap). but that's not even the topic of your post.

ns10 ruled for decades, its quite a dull speaker. the list goes on and on. The exception was the 1031, which i've found impossible to mix mids.